top of page

Progress of the Week - July Week 5

That was one productive and tough week, but we made it! Welcome back to another realease of our weekly blog (series?)!

 

What we did last week:

The Rise of Hackon:

So you might think that there is only coding done this week (which proably is true), but we also didn't drop down the graphic designing. Here we go...

It might sound that the scripting i've done this week would be much, but in general I sat down on scripting for like 3 hours in total.

I got a checktpoint event done and just worked on it for 5 minutes in total.

(most time went on figuring out how to script the checkpoint becuase, yeah I am still a noob on RPG Maker VX Ace)

Next up I made a (better say three by now) variable which determines how much material you have gathered.

After two days (I think), my time went into scripting our fellow Villager guy's dialogue and it wasn't that hard. But in the Game Development Stream, boy HE WAS ANNOYING. It took me like more than a half an hour to figure out how to make his dialogue loop back to the start. To watch my frustration about this whole thing, check out our livestream linked here:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lkt7d2nxrVg

After I ran out of my last idea to solve this problem it worked.

The next moment I can remeber was that I was yelling a victory scream throughout the house, Kerem witnessing it.

I will get more into detail in of what we did in the stream below.

I was also testing out our game and found a little graphics mistake on the pathes, then send the mistake as a message to Kerem.

He came back after a couple of minutes with the fixed version of the Path Right End graphic.

Kerem also designed a new item, the Paradise Helmet. We implemented it directly into our project because of it good look.

The Stream Progress:

You may see this title coming up every next two weekly blogs.

We are thinking of doing regulear livestreams of our game development to interact with you guys more.

To couple everything together the work I did was designing the stream thumbnail, streampause picture and streamstart picture, described the stream and preapared the streaming software for it.

It took way longer than it should have...

A half an hour left before the stream start Kerem and I spammed, oh, *cough* *cough*, I mean spread the word across our social media platforms to let our community know about it. That was worth it.

As mentioned before I scripted THAT FUnky villager to loop his conversation.

The good thing is that it worked.

The bad thing is that he still has mere few bugs to fix and enhancements to work on.

The main focus was on getting our game graphics together.

Some tweaking on Kerem's Paradise Helmet was done and Hackon Sidestand... Yes people I finally designed Hackon's Sidestand and... yeah let's don't overhype this simple task.

Compared to my chaos created, Kerem finished of the Bridge Tileset in those three hours and drew an extra item aswell.

Let me introduce you the graphics he designed:

Bridge Left Broken Part

Bridge Right Broken Part

Bridge Left Fixed Part

Bridge Right Fixed Part

Bridge Left to Right

Kusarigama

(that item / weapon thing, see what I did there, heh, you know weapon, / meaning Slash. Ok I won't bother you with bad puns and keep on writing)

The stream had its moments overall. It was a cool experience to have and just streaming with Kerem made streaming 10 times less boring.

HF DRake:

Yes we did do a metric hive on The Rise of Hackon and we do dismiss our side-projects.

Hey, at least I continued on our very complex logo. The sword blades are finished and I drew a block of plank which needs some copy-pasting and then our first letter is finished! (that was pretty much all from our side-projects work)

A little thing I want to talk about is that the Shadow & Light webpage getting delayed again.

I really wanted to do some work on it, but I forgot about it because of all the hype and hysteria of the stream preparation. (pls forgive meh) I am putting the Shadow & Light web page on the main focus now.

 

What we will do untill next week:

The Rise of Hackon:

- Working on the Tree Tileset to start working on the gameplay

(big step forward)

- Animanting a bush for a hunting scenario

- Designing the Watertileset for some and learn how to animate it

- Putting all tilesets together and fixing them

HF DRake:

- Yes, even if we said it for several times"The Logo, it needs to be done!"

HF DRake Website:

- The 1.1.5 Update with the Shadow & Light (who knew?) website and some animation inprovement for the website-viewers comfort

 

It is kinda sad to end these blogs especially when I am at a creativity rush. Well my rambling should come to an end right?

That is what I am going to do now by saying:

That was it from this weeks progress. Hope you enjoyed reading it and please consider sharing this post to support us. Every bit helps. See you in the next week!

Sincerely,

Emre

(Side Note: This might be the longest blog I have ever written and I am proud of it from its structuring to its length)

Recent Posts
Share this post
bottom of page