top of page

Progress of the Week - August Week 2

So, I am alone now at game developing now for a while.

I'll get into detail later. With these words I would like to welcome you to another Progress of the Week release, the second week of August.

 

What we did last week:

Clarification before getting into the blog:

Kerem and Ömer reported me that they are away to vacation villages (I assume so), which have bad internet connection and no free wi-fi's so communicating and helping out will not be possible for them. That's why I am probably alone at "game deving" around for a while.

The Rise of Hackon:

I won't say there is much progress this week, but it is something.

This weeks graphics progress isn't much but atleast something.

The overall graphics work was on the intro graphics and the items.

I (re)worked on the two items the "Dual Ice & Fire Swords" from Kerem and the

"Bottle of Water that contains Showersalt". (what an item name)

The Dual Swords' holder got reworked from matt grey to fading dark purple and the sword holders got a little energy crystal drawn aswell.

The Bottle (I'll shorten it, the title is annoyingly long) was an overall tweak work of alpha colors overall, but working on them was fun and expirience-rich aswell. In total it took me about an hour, worth the outcome. you can check it out below.

Another great new is that I did more progress on Hackon.

He has now a left stand, and his step animation is on progress aswell. Hopefully his full tileset will come out acceptable.

Latest masterpiece (I would say) is the laser beam of Goku appearing in the intro scene.

It is going to be an unecessary joke,

but we are trying our best to make a quality game, and not just dialogue boxes over dialogue boxes.

Here we go, the music progress this week is awesome!

I worked on two different music projects via the FamiTracker's,

purely new and also more progressed compared to the others.

These are called "Interstellar is in" and "Outer Quakes".

Both are by far my considered as one of the best music pieces I made since I was working with FamiTracker.

Interstellar is in is 8 Frames long and Outer Quakes 7 Frames.

I will maybe put up a song preview of these two tracks maybe next week.

One other piece is "Darkness Hiding Something", a 6 Frame long work, also a really good piece, which I forgot to mention on last week's blog due to my frustration. But hey here it is mentioned now (so, brain you can stop annoying me).

Me and Kerem had to discuss quite a lot at the week start, we were out if things to do in the list (haha I wish that day would come) so we had to refresh it with new things.

Well, there is not a To do LIST anymore, more like a To do BOARD at Trello.

I registered to Trello today and wrote down pretty much anything was left to do on a To Do Board. Now the new things to do are enough for an eternity. (not really)

To be clear we aren't sponsored or given money to advertise Trello. (but damn, talking about it is enough)

We also TRIED to work on the story line of The Rise of Hackon.

This didn't turn out that well so we decided to put of the work to our future selves. This was a good idea, because we now have new ideas for the storyline. (mainly for some endings)

(Also an idea collection board in Trello is also a good idea...

What? I should stop talking about it? Yeah...)

HF DRake:

Besides these I made a game challenge for myself. I tried to code a game within one and a half hour and called it "Where are my keys?". It didn't reach it's main purpose, but I think it is going to need another "two hours game challenge" to progresss that. I'll work on that in the future.

HF DRake Website:

As you may seen it on our older post, 1.1.6 was released.

It contains these awesome new things such as,

- a paragraph of our major events that have happened since we started HF DRake.

- a paragraph update to The Rise of Hackon page, a paragraph titled "Hope in our project".

- a new background and layout to the blog page of our website.

 

What we will do until next time:

The Rise of Hackon:

I'll be heavily working on the intro to finally get it done this week. (Maybe not the cutscene but the scripting part.)

Also those damn Trees need to be drawn so I'll also try to focus myself on the Tree Tileset. (to get the first solid gameplay done)

We also will be writing a lot of story this week, especially after I wrote this blog. :P

If we get everything done mentioned here I'll work on some more tiles and keep expading the to do list in Trello. (ok I stop)

Also a lot of music work will be done too, because damn I love FamiTracker.

HF DRake:

- Logo (no more words)

HF DRake Website:

Collecting ideas from other websites and mashing them together to one cause I have no ideas left. (you can also suggest features)

 

This is it from this weekly blog. Remember to leave you suggestions on the comments! They will be more than appriciated!

Untill next week, stay happy, and keep an eye out on our page. Some sneek peaks may be coming in this week! :P

Sincerely,

Emre

Recent Posts
Share this post
bottom of page